LANCS.TV Old Trafford Lodge Hotel
Match Report STORY
Surrey win tense Final
Surrey win tense Final
Print Printable version

Surrey won the 2ndXI Championship Final by 62 runs after three hard fought days.

Surrey 1st innings 500 for 8 dec (151.1 overs) Jordan 135, Batty 70, Smith 86*, Waters 53, Roy 50, Mullaney 2-59, Croft 2-81,  Kerrigan 2-90
Lancashire 1st innings 438 all out (123.4 overs) Parry 11Smith 5-90, King 2-90, Stevens 2-65, Jewell 1-61
Surrey won on first innings scores by 62 runs

3rd day Report: Lancashire almost carried off a famous Championship win but just fell short on an absorbing and tense final day. Aiming to bat the first two sessions carefully and lose no more than two wickets and score at 3 runs per over, Lancashire were on course to reach their 501 run target at the tea interval. 

Adrian Shankar and Steven Mullaney batted sensibly through the morning session, Mullaney reaching his 50 in the 73rd over, and the pair had added 92 runs by lunch, Lancashire 306-4 after 82 overs. After lunch the Surrey seamers slowed down the rate and at 338 Mullaney perished, bowled by Stevens for 77. Chris Tipper joined Shankar and they took the score to 395-5 at tea to leave 106 runs required from 34 overs.

Enter Surrey's Tom Smith (on loan from Sussex) who claimed Shankar caught behind, quickly followed by Tipper lbw and Newby caught at slip to trurn the game decisivly in favour of the visitors with Lancashire now 418-8, still 73 runs away from their target. The end came quickly with Kerrigan also lbw to Smith two overs later, and Nick Caunce last out caught at cover attacking King. Lancashire were 438 all out giving Surrey the Championship on 1st innings scores.

2nd day Report: Surrey batted cautiously on the resumption of play, clearly intent on building a big first-innings score as this game is certain to be a one-innings affair with the wicket flattening out. Chris Jordan and Tom Smith batted throughout the morning, Smith giving two chances-one to slip and a caught and bowled chance-before Jordan  edged Simon Kerrigan to slip off the penultimate ball before lunch where Steven Croft took a juggling catch.

Following the break, Surrey batted on for 30 minutes and pushed the score on quickly to declare on 500 for 8, losing Jewell caught by Gary Montgomery off Kerrigan.. Basically that meant Lancashire required 501 runs to win on first innings scores from a minimum of 152 overs (later reduced to 144 after a stoppage for bad light). Surrey require all 10 Lancashire wickets if they are to win, otherwise the title will be shared.

The afternoon was something of a mixed bag for Lancashire, who recovered well after losing Luke Procter and Steven Croft with 72 runs on the board. Karl Brown and Gareth Cross scored quickly, adding 125 runs for the third wicket, but both fell just before the close. Cross sliced an attempted drive to backward point and Brown was lbw to spinner King playing no shot to  leave Surrey on top at the end of the second day, cut short by 8 overs due to bad light. 

1st day Report: Lancashire missed a great chance in the second over when Karl Brown dropped the Surrey opener Tom Lancefield at third slip off Gary Montgomery's second delivery. The visitors quickly moved on to 61-0 after 15 overs before the introduction of Steven Croft brought a breakthrough with left-hander Lancefield caught down the leg side by Gareth Cross. The wicket slowed the scoring rate and Oliver Newby trapped Seren Waters lbw just before lunch to leave Surrey at 113-2 from 40 overs.

Croft struck again early after lunch, Newby pouching Josh Lawrence from a miss-hit hook. Jonathan Batty and Jason Roy added 80 before Batty was bowled by Steven Mullaney, and the all-rounder claimed a second victim when he trapped Roy in front in his next over. At tea Surrey had progressed to 239-5 from 78 overs.

The last session belonged to Surrey, with the only the wicket to fall that of wicketkeeper Rory Burns, well caught by Luke Procter running round from deep mid-off. Chris Jordan batted well in making 64 not out, including two big sixes. Bad light stopped play at 5.51pm with Surrey 330-6 after 106 overs.
Darrin White

The Result

The winners of the Final will be the Second XI Champions. If the Final is drawn, the side that achieves a first innings lead will be the Second XI Champions.

If there is no result on first innings (i.e. the team batting second has neither exceeded its opponents’ total nor been bowled out), or if first innings scores are tied in a drawn match, then the Second XI Championship will be shared.

Surrey 1st innings 500 for 8 dec (151.1 overs) 
1st wicket:  Lancefield c Cross b Croft 28 - Fall: 61
2nd wicket: Waters lbw b Newby 53 - Fall: 109
3rd wicket: Lawrence c Newby b Croft 2 - Fall: 138
4th wicket: Batty b Mullaney 70 - Fall: 218
5th wicket: Roy lbw b Mullaney 50 - Fall: 232
6th wicket: Burns c Procter b Parry 22 - Fall 299
7th wicket: Jordan c Croft b Kerrigan 135 - Fall 469
8th wicket: Jewell c Montgomery b Kerrigan 14 Fall - 489
Not Out -
Smith 88*, Anyon 6*, 

Bowling: Newby 31-6-88-1 Montgomery 10-0-50-0 Parry 25.1-6-66-1 Croft 24-3-81-2 Kerrigan 33-8-96-2 Mullaney 12-2-59-2 Caunce 11-2-23-0 Procter 5-0-18-0

Lancashire 1st innings 438 all out (123.4 overs)
1st wicket: Procter b Stevens 19 - Fall 43
2nd wicket: Croft c King b Jewell 22 - Fall 72
3rd wicket: Cross c Batty b King 65 - Fall 197
4th wicket: Brown lbw b Smith 83 - Fall 201
5th wicket: Mullaney b Stevens 77 - Fall 338
6th wicket: Shankar c Burns b Smith 79 - Fall 414
7th wicket: Tipper lbw b Smith 45 - Fall 419
8th wicket: Newby c Jordan b Smith 0 -
Fall 419
9th wicket: Kerrigan lbw b Smith 1 - Fall 425

10th wicket: Caunce c Anyon b King 10 - Fall 438

Teams (both sides playing 12 players)
Lancashire: Luke Procter, Karl Brown, Steven Mullaney, Steven Croft, Gareth Cross (wkt), Adrian Shankar (capt), Chris Tipper, Stephen Parry, Oliver Newby, Simon Kerrigan, Nick Caunce, Gary Montgomery (not batting).

Surrey: Jonathan Batty (capt), Seren Waters, Tom Lancefield, Jason Roy, Chris Jordan, Rory Burns (wkt), Tom Jewell, Jimmy Anyon, Simon King, Tom Smith, Josh Lawrence, Richard Stevens (not batting).

Number of players
Either one or both sides may nominate 12 players but with 11 only specified nominated to bat.

Hours of Play
1st and 2nd days: 10:30am – 6pm (minimum of 104 overs)
3rd day: 10:30am – 5:30pm (minimum of 96 overs)

1st and 2nd days: 12:45pm
3rd day: 12:30pm

1st and 2nd days: 3:40pm or 32 overs remaining, whichever is the later.
3rd day: 3.10pm