LANCS.TV Old Trafford Lodge Hotel
Academy STORY
Colts win in Cup
Colts win in Cup
Print Printable version

Lancashire Colts are through to the next round of the Readers Cup after defeating Fleetwood on Sunday

The Colts won this 40-over Readers Cup (Division 1) match by six wickets.

Fleetwood won the toss and batted on a firm to hard wicket offering something in it for both batters, and bowlers.

The Colts opted to open with spinner Mo Abid, and medium paced seamer Joe Hawke. The two combined early to remove opener Chris Stanhope for 4, caught on the boundary by Hawke off Abid.

Left-hander Adam Parker then went caught behind by McGregor off Hawke for 5 to see Fleetwood struggling at 30-2 inside 10 overs.

Opener Adam Sharrock’s knock of 58 off 99 balls (3x4s, 1x6s) was the mainstay of the innings, with Fleetwood CC posting 115 all out off 37.2 overs.

His batting partners came and went quickly in a regular cluster of wickets for the Colts bowlers.

The middle order succumbed to the seam bowling of Zafir Patel who accounted for Dean Bell (caught behind) for 2, Joe Bell (caught Walling at slip) for 0, and Ryan Smith (caught behind) for 1. Patel finished with 3-11 off 7 overs and Fleetwood’s score at this point was 46-5 off 18 overs.

Fleetwood’s final wickets were shared around the Colts bowlers. Hawke finished with figures of 3-15 off 7.2 overs, Mo Abid 2-21 from his 8 overs, Greg Butterworth 0-36 from his 8 overs, and at the back end captain Jason Swift took 2-30 off 7 overs.

In response, the Colts lost Michael Barnes for 0 (caught and bowled) and Mark Walling for 14 (bowled) to find themselves 26-2 off 11 overs.

Opener Ammer Mirza was in good form, hitting 52 not out off 87 balls (9x4s) in a 3rd wicket stand of 80 with Lewis Jackson who hit a quick 31 off 42 balls to see the Colts home to victory by 6 wickets.

The Colts next league game is away at Darwen on Sunday, 3rd July 2011.

Scott Churchman, Lancashire Colts Scorer.