LANCS.TV Old Trafford Lodge Hotel
Academy STORY
2012 Scholarship & Academy Players
2012 Scholarship & Academy Players
Print Printable version

Lancashire's Scholarship and Academy Players have been selected for 2012

The 2011 cricket season will be remembered for the historic achievements of Lancashire’s First Team; and rightly so.

I think all supporters would have enjoyed the way the roller coaster end to the season and the way the players’ never say die attitude really shone through in those nail biting games.

What augers well for Lancashire’s future are that so many of those young players who won us the Championship have grown up in the County, learned their cricket here and had their talent spotted and developed by committed coaches and managers.

John Stanworth, Lancashire’s Academy Director (pictured above), said: ‘"to win matches in the way we did last year was testament to the lads’ character as much as anything else. It was great to be involved with the First Team and seeing so many of our former Academy players step up and meet these challenges so regularly.

"There is a real sense of satisfaction at Old Trafford, yet a realisation that we must strive to continually improve our skills if we are to remain as competitive at all levels in 2012."

The next generation of Lancashire players have now been selected for the Academy from within the County, from Cheshire, Staffordshire and from Cumberland. They started their pre season preparation in November and will work on developing their game and themselves in general until September 2012.

Scholarship Players
We have six players on Scholarship contracts next year; Tom Bailey and Arron Lilley, who both step up from the Academy, and they are joined by Louis Bentley and former Academy player Luis Reece, who will combine his time with his studies at Leeds/Bradford University. Alex Davies and Gavin Griffiths are on joint Scholarship/Academy terms.

Academy Players
Muhammad Abid (Right Hand Bat and Right Arm Leg Spin) Ashton CC
Alex Davies (Right Hand Bat and Wicketkeeper) Darwen CC
Gavin Griffiths (Right Arm Fast Bowler) Ormskirk CC
Haseeb Hameed (Right Hand Bat and Right Arm Leg Spin) Farnworth Social Circle CC
Rob Jones (Right Hand Bat and Right Arm Leg Spin) Toft CC
Liam Livingstone (Right Hand Bat) Barrow CC
Mattie McKiernan (Right Arm Leg Spin) Leigh CC
Saqib Mahmood (Right Arm Fast Medium and Right Hand Bat) Thornham CC
Matthew Parkinson (Right Arm Leg Spin and Right Hand Bat) Heaton CC
Tom Steele (Right Hand Bat and Right Arm Leg Spin) Leek CC
Ross Zelem (Right Hand Bat) Heywood CC