LANCS.TV Old Trafford Lodge Hotel
10th April 2013
Win Wisden's 150th edition Almanack

We've teamed up with Wisden, the world's most famous sports book, to celebrate the 150th edition of the Almanack, published on Thursday April 11.

Since 1864 cricket’s iconic book of record has carried reports on over 22,000 County Championship games, covered more than 2,000 Test matches and honoured 570 Wisden Cricketers of the Year.

Editor Lawrence Booth’s Five Cricketers of the Year for 2013, are Nick Compton of Somerset and England, who joins his grandfather Denis, honoured in 1939, to become the first grandfather and grandson to win the coveted award. South Africa’s Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis and Dale Steyn, and Marlon Samuels of the West Indies are also recognised.

Australia captain Michael Clarke is named as the Leading Cricketer in the World.

And to celebrate its unique anniversary, Wisden has named the ten most seminal moments in cricket during the 150 years covered by the Almanack.  The ten Moments in Time are:

• 1871: W. G. Grace rewrites the record books
• 1882: The Ashes are born
• 1932-33: Bodyline divides two nations
• 1963: The Gillette Cup is launched
• 1968: The D’Oliveira Affair exposes apartheid
• 1975-76: Defeat in Australia sparks West Indies’ pace revolution
• 1977-78: World Series Cricket shakes the foundations
• 1992-93: Technology takes its bow
• 2000: Hansie Cronje admits to match-fixing
• 2008: The first IPL auction puts a price on everything

Your chance to win
We have 3 copies of the 150th anniversary Almanack, valued at 50, to give away. To enter our great competition, simply answer the following question:
Who was the last Lancashire Player to be named as one of Wisden's Five Cricketers of the Year? 

E-mail your answer to: by 24th April 2013.

Visit for full details of Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack 2013, including the Shorter Wisden eBook and Robert Winder’s compelling new history of Wisden, The Little Wonder.