Groundsman Awards
Groundsman Awards

Lancashire Head Groundsman Peter Marron has today received two Commendations in the ECBs 2008 Groundsman of the Year Awards.

Peter received these Commendations in the four-day and one-day pitch categories, where his marks placed in the top five in both categories.

Continuing a pattern that has been in place for a number of years, Bill Gordon from The Brit Oval won both the four-day and one-day pitches title.

Stuart Kerrison from Chelmsford was Runner-up in the four-day category whilst Mike Grantham from Canterbury was named Runner-up for one-day pitches.

Alan Fordham, ECB Head of Operations (First Class Cricket) said, "Once again the nation's groundsmen and their teams have worked incredibly hard to produce some excellent pitches during another wet season.  Great matches happen on great pitches and the tireless work that groundsmen do all year means that many thousands of spectators and players get maximum enjoyment from the game.

"For many years, Peter has produced excellent pitches for all forms of cricket at Old Trafford and 2008 was no exception.  His pitches in 2008 consistently scored high marks from the Umpires who oversaw matches involving pitches prepared by the Lancashire Groundstaff.

"2008 also marks the end of an era at Lancashire, with Peter leaving the post of Head Groundsman at Christmas.  So on behalf of the ECB, I would like to thank Peter for his contribution to English Cricket over the past 30 years and wish him all the best for his future endeavours."

>> Latest News

19/04/14 Proud moment for Buttler

19/04/14 Peter Moores

18/04/14 Spectator Guide v Warwickshire

17/04/14 Lancs ready to hit the Rapids!

17/04/14 Lancs v Warwicks Match Coverage

17/04/14 Club Announces Record Profit

16/04/14 Why Murali loves Lancs

16/04/14 2ndXI draw at Sussex

Home / Latest News / Team / Club / Merchandise / Tickets / Membership / Thunderbolts / Hospitality / Banqueting / Old Trafford Lodge / Cricket Board / Development / Lancashire Line / Cricket Centre / Directions / Contacts / Links

Copyright Lancashire County Cricket Club. Designed and developed by Apraze