Anderson named in World Twenty20 squad
Anderson named in World Twenty20 squad

Lancashire’s James Anderson has today been named in England’s 15-man squad for the forthcoming ICC World Twenty20 to be held in the Caribbean from April 30.

The England men's final squad of 15 players includes uncapped Hampshire batsman Michael Lumb and Somerset's Craig Kieswetter while Ravi Bopara and Michael Yardy have been recalled to the national team.

Commenting on the England men's squad, Geoff Miller, England National Selector, said: "We believe we've picked a balanced squad that can meet the needs of the Twenty20 format - aggressive batting with variation and strength in depth and various bowling options that accommodate the conditions and surfaces in the West Indies. Our fielding, which is such a vital aspect of limited overs cricket, has improved markedly and there's no reason we can't perform well in what will be a challenging global tournament.

"On the recent tour of Bangladesh Craig Kieswetter showed what he is capable of in international limited overs cricket and as a wicketkeeper at the top of the order he gives us options down the order. Craig has improved over time and his selection indicates real competition for places which is only healthy for the England team. Despite missing selection for this format of the game Matt Prior very much remains in the England set up and a part of our plans.

"Michael Lumb has consistently performed well in limited overs cricket for Hampshire and has also impressed during his time in the IPL and with the England Lions. As a powerful left-hander Michael adds aggression to our batting and has the ability to compliment the rest of the line-up.

"Michael Yardy has also performed at a consistently high level for his county, Sussex, in limited overs cricket and knows his game inside and out. Both Michael and Ravi Bopara have earned recalls to the England squad after going away and working hard on their cricket with excellent results."

England men's ICC World T20 squad:
1. Paul Collingwood (Durham, Captain)
2. James Anderson (Lancashire)
3. Ravi Bopara (Essex)
4. Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)
5. Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
6. Craig Kieswetter (Somerset)
7. Michael Lumb (Hampshire)
8. Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)
9. Kevin Pietersen (Hampshire)
10. Ajmal Shahzad (Yorkshire)
11. Ryan Sidebottom (Nottinghamshire)
12. Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)
13. James Tredwell (Kent)
14. Luke Wright (Sussex)
15. Michael Yardy (Sussex)

The ICC World Twenty20 commences on Friday April 30 in Guyana with the final to be played on Sunday May 16 in Barbados.

The England men's team are in Group D alongside West Indies and Ireland, with its first Group match against hosts West Indies in Guyana on Monday May 3 (13:30 local time).

>> Latest News

15/04/14 Lancs ready to hit the Rapids!

15/04/14 Members' Dining this summer

15/04/14 Brown century boost

14/04/14 Easter Opening Hours

14/04/14 Spectator Guide v Warwickshire


13/04/14 150th Dinner at Lord's

11/04/14 Legends #10 Neil Fairbrother

Home / Latest News / Team / Club / Merchandise / Tickets / Membership / Thunderbolts / Hospitality / Banqueting / Old Trafford Lodge / Cricket Board / Development / Lancashire Line / Cricket Centre / Directions / Contacts / Links

Copyright © Lancashire County Cricket Club. Designed and developed by Apraze